Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m pleased to announce that I am scheduled to return to CNBC this afternoon to talk about the Trump administration’s global trade policies. The segment is slated to begin at 3 PM EST, and its theme is the surprising, precedent-breaking performance of President Trump’s Treasury Secretary at a recent conference of the world’s leading economies.

I’m also pleased to announce that my recent op-ed article for The New York Times about the administration’s trade policy has been cited by the influential Economist’s View blog, and by the webzine TheWeek.com

Less pleasing:  The Washington Post‘s Monkey Cage blog published a piece critiquing my article (which is of course fine).  But the powers that be on the blog refused to consider publishing a response by me (which isn’t so fine).  Monkey Cage says it was founded to enable “political scientists draw on their own expertise and the discipline’s research to illuminate the news, inform civic discussion, and make some sense of the circus that is politics.”

But editor John Sides informed me that “At this point…we’re not going to begin a more extended back-and-forth on this issue.”

That tells me that Monkey Cage actually isn’t so big on fostering civic discussion – and therefore can’t be much of a blog. That should be the message you take away, too.

