Tags


How the time does fly!  I can hardly believe that I’m sitting here at the keyboard to announce that today marks the third anniversary of the first substantive blog posted on RealityChek!

I’m sorry to report that there’s still “so much nonsense out there, and so little time” – if not more of the former!  But I did want to make sure again to say thank you to everyone who’s decided that dropping by here occasionally, or even more often, is worth their while.  Special thanks to those who have taken the time to comment, and to everyone who’s decided to register a “Like” or to follow.

I’m doing the best I can to keep up with your questions, criticisms, and observations, and hope that my performance on this score has improved somewhat.  But I also want to make sure that the Likers and followers know that they’re greatly appreciated, too.

As regulars here are aware, feedback is always welcome.  If anything, the nation (and world?) have gotten more polarized over these last three years, and it’s also increasingly clear to me that the subjects of these posts can evoke strong reactions among readers.  Therefore, I’m as interested as ever to hear from you, and to know how passionately you may feel in favor or against something I’ve written.  If you want to employ more than a little snark along the way to make your point, please feel free!  I’ve been known to take this tack myself.  And if you run across material you think I may not have seen, it’s always great to get these heads-ups

But if at all possible, please try to be specific and concrete with criticisms in particular. And be sure to leave the profanity at home, along with the name-calling. Because if you don’t, you won’t be welcome any more.  It’s not that I’m thin-skinned. It’s just that if you need these kinds of crutches to express yourself, you’re clearly not qualified to participate in constructive, informative debate.  And therefore, you’re wasting everyone’s time.

One of the most rewarding aspects of blogging here for the last three years has been the number of acquaintances and real friends I’ve made.  They’ve reinforced my belief that, for all the bilge that’s infected our public life, individuals of intelligence (of all kinds), quality, and good will still abound.  So many of you have taught me a great deal, and led me to look anew at any number of issues.  In large measure, these posts are an attempt at least partly to return the favor.

 

 

 

